top of page

The Fast-Growing Hierarchy: The Basics

The Fast-Growing Hierarchy is a definition of functions that continually grow larger and larger, faster and faster for each function (there are more than one!).

It works like this:

f0(n)=n+1

then, for each function, fm(n),

we take fm-1(fm-1(...fm-1(n))) where the fm-1 is repeated n times.

So, f1(n) = n+1+1+1+...n times...+1. This is just n+n = 2n.

f2(n) = 2*2*2*2...n times*2 * n = n*2^n.

f3(n) is harder to calculate, so I’ll leave that up to you, but f3(3) is about 10^120000000, or A(12A7) using my letter notation. Anyways...

Hope you enjoyed this blog post! I’m MatthewNotebook, find me on Wikia, and hopefully we’ll meet again.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Just a list of numbers that get progressively bigger

In an extended form of my notation Part 0: A review of base-10 In base-10 notation, ba = 10a+b, cba = 100c+10b+a, etc, where a,b,c,etc are all digits between 0 and 9 (so no letters, punctuation, etc)

Why 1 + 1 = 2

Why does 1 + 1 = 2? Well, to put it simply: that's what we said it would be. This question will make much more sense if we confine our discussion to mathematical symbols, instead of natural language.

Extending a Naming System

In one of my previous posts, I explained how my notation could be used to name numbers; but we can also extend this to already-in-place names. For example, a googol is equal to 10^100 (or A100 in my l

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page