top of page

Using my Letter Notation to Name Things

In my last post, I explained my letter notation, and in this post, I’ll be naming some numbers based on it.

Let’s begin!

It’s important to understand what exactly I mean by “naming a number.” Naming a number is when you take a number (in this case, a large number) and give it a moniker. For example, 10^100 was famously named Googol and 10^10^100 is Googolplex, another famous number.

Now, we can name numbers using the NATO code (Alfa, Bravo, Charlie, etc etc)

*Note: this uses the Condensed Letter Notation, as opposed to the Hyper-Extended Letter Notation.

A1 = 10, so we could name 10 “alfa-one.” However (technically speaking) A1 = B1 = C1 etc etc so this naming could be changed.

A2, however, is just A2. So 100 could be Alfa-two.

B2 would be AA1, or A10, so 10^10 could be Alfa-ten or bravo-two.

B3 would be AAA1, or A(10^10), so beta-three could be 10^10^10.



Here are some more examples:



A million is 1000000 >> 10^6 >> A6 >> Alfa-Six.

Googol >> A100 >> Alfa-100; A100 >> AA2 >> Alfa-Alfa-Two

Googolplex >> AA100 >> AGoogol >> Alfa-Googol; or AA100 >> Alfa-Alfa-100; AA100 >> AAA2 >> Alfa-Alfa-Alfa-Two.


Tetralogue >> 10^10^10^10 >> AAA10 >> AAAA1 >> B4 > Bravo-Four.

Hexalogue >> AAAAAA1 >> B6 >> Bravo-Six.

Decker >> B10 >> Bravo-Ten; B10 >> BA1 >> BB1 >> C2 >> Charlie-Two.

Chilialogue >> B1000 >> BA3 >> Bravo-Alfa-Three.

Tetra-Taxis >> C4 >> Charlie-Four.

Deka-Taxis >> C10 >> Charlie-10; C10 >> CA1 >> CC1 >> D2 >> Delta-Two.

Tetra-Petaxis >> CCC10 >> CCCC1 >> D4 >> Delta-Four.

And etc etc.

Icosagol, from my last post, is TA2 >> T100 >> Tango-100; TA2 >> Tango-Alfa-Two.

And finally, we can create a number for Z100; this will be equal to Zulu-100, or Zulu-Alpha-Two. Or...the ZAT! Yeah, I’m naming that right here: the ZAT.

There you go; now we can name numbers in a systematic way!

Hope you enjoyed this blog post! I’m MatthewNotebook, find me on Wikia, and hopefully we’ll meet again.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Just a list of numbers that get progressively bigger

In an extended form of my notation Part 0: A review of base-10 In base-10 notation, ba = 10a+b, cba = 100c+10b+a, etc, where a,b,c,etc are all digits between 0 and 9 (so no letters, punctuation, etc)

Why 1 + 1 = 2

Why does 1 + 1 = 2? Well, to put it simply: that's what we said it would be. This question will make much more sense if we confine our discussion to mathematical symbols, instead of natural language.

Extending a Naming System

In one of my previous posts, I explained how my notation could be used to name numbers; but we can also extend this to already-in-place names. For example, a googol is equal to 10^100 (or A100 in my l

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page